Skip to main
Share this page:


AOSSM/APKASS 2023 Traveling Fellows Tour

Experience the 2023 Traveling Fellowship tour with Adam Anz, MD; Jeffrey Macalena, MD; Dustin Richter, MD; and Godfather Darren Johnson, MD. Read the highlights as they travel through South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, and Thailand.

    • Traveling Fellows

Dean C. Taylor, MD, COL (ret) USA, Assumes Presidency of AOSSM

AOSSM is honored to announce that Dean C. Taylor, MD, COL (ret) USA, has begun his one-year term as president after being installed in the office during the AOSSM 2023 Annual Meeting that recently concluded in Washington, DC.

    • Announcement
    • AOSSM Leadership

Protecting Athletes and Team Physicians Who Care for Them Amid Rising Complexity and Liability Risk

This open letter by AOSSM emphasizes the vital role of team physicians in providing medical care to high-level athletes, and the increasing liability risks faced by them due to the inherently higher risk of injury among athletes. The statement calls for subspecialists in sports medicine to work together to preserve the future of the profession and suggests that testimony in support of or critical of medical care should come from a qualified sports medicine physician.

    • Announcement

AOSSM Welcomes New Sr. Director of Research and Health Policy

AOSSM is pleased to announce the addition of Lynette Craft, PhD as Senior Director of Research and Health Policy to its professional team. Research and Knowledge Discovery are at the foundation of AOSSM’s mission and vision and serve as cornerstones of the recently approved Strategic Plan.

    • Announcement

AOSSM/APKASS 2022 Traveling Fellows Tour

Follow Charles Bush-Joseph, MD; Cassandra Lee, MD; Winston Gwathmey, MD; and Jas Chahal, MD on their tour through Asia. These four orthopaedic professionals travel throughout Japan, South Korea, Singapore, and Thailand over the course of three weeks.

    • Traveling Fellows

Sports Medicine Multicenter Research Grant Recipient

The Sports Medicine Multicenter Research Grant was awarded to Beth E. Shubin Stein, MD, Hospital for Special Surgery, and Shital N. Parikh, MD, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital on Friday, July 15, 2022 for their JUPITER 4.0 project on patella instability, which received a historic $400,000 during the American Orthopaedic Society of Sports Medicine (AOSSM) Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs in recognition of the Society’s 50th Anniversary.

    • Announcement
    • Research

AOSSM Announces Mark Miller, MD, as its 2022-2023 President

The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine is honored to announce Mark Miller, MD, as its 2022-2023 President. Miller was installed at the AOSSM 2022 Annual Meeting held July 13-17 in Colorado Springs. Miller is the S. Ward Casscells Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and the division head for Sports Medicine at the University of Virginia.

    • Announcement
    • AOSSM Leadership

AOSSM Hosts 2022 Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs

The successful American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine 2022 Annual Meeting drew nearly 2,700 participants to Colorado Springs on July 14-17. Surgeons, physicians and other sports medicine specialists gathered from across the country for top-tier education and networking opportunities.

    • Events
Back to top