Skip to main
Share this page:

Dean C. Taylor, MD, COL (ret) USA, Assumes Presidency of AOSSM

    • Announcement
    • AOSSM Leadership

The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) is honored to announce that Dean C. Taylor, MD, COL (ret) USA, has begun his one-year term as president after being installed in the office during the AOSSM 2023 Annual Meeting that recently concluded in Washington, DC.

Dr. Taylor currently serves as a professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chair of the Feagin Leadership Program at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, NC. In addition, he serves as team physician for Duke University Athletics, a position he has held since 2006.

A graduate of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, Dr. Taylor earned his medical degree from Duke University School of Medicine. Dr. Taylor completed his residency training in orthopaedic surgery at Duke University Medical Center, followed by a fellowship in sports medicine at the Letterman Army Institute of Research, Presidio of San Francisco, and Keller Army Hospital, West Point.

Dr. Taylor served in the Army for 24 years, retiring as a Colonel in 2005. In 2019, he was the recipient of the Society of Military Orthopaedic Surgeons’ (SOMOS) prestigious COL Brian Allgood Memorial Leadership Award, which recognizes leadership excellency in military orthopaedic surgery.

Prior to his appointment as President of AOSSM, Dr. Taylor had served on and chaired numerous committees before joining its Board of Directors as treasurer in 2017. He joined the AOSSM’s Traveling Fellows tours as both a participant and a Godparent and has served as AOSSM faculty for several annual meetings and specialty days. He was honored with the AOSSM George D. Rovere Award in 2019 for his contributions to sports medicine education.

A renowned researcher in sports medicine, Dr. Taylor’s research has been published in the field’s leading journals including the American Journal of Sports Medicine (AJSM), Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine, and Sports Health: A Multidisciplinary Approach. In addition, Dr. Taylor has received many AOSSM research awards including the 1989 AOSSM Annual Meeting Excellence in Research Award in Basic Science, the 2002 AOSSM O’Donoghue Award for best scientific paper, the 2004 AOSSM Hughston Award best scientific paper published the previous year in the AJSM, the 2006 AOSSM Aircast Award for Basic Science, the 2007 AOSSM NCAA Award, and the 2011 AOSSM Aircast Award for Clinical Science.

Dr. Taylor succeeds Mark D. Miller, MD, who assumed the title of immediate past president. Prior to assuming the role, AOSSM Presidents serve as vice president and then president-elect.

The AOSSM 2023-2024 Board of Directors includes:

  • Dean C. Taylor, MD, President, Duke Sports Sciences Institute
  • Christopher C. Kaeding, MD, President-Elect, The Ohio State University Sports Medicine Institute
  • Eric C. McCarty, MD, Vice President, University of Colorado
  • Jeffrey R. Dugas, MD, Secretary, Andrews Sports Medicine Institute
  • Robin Vereeke West, MD, Treasurer
  • Mark D. Miller, MD, Immediate Past President, University of Virginia Health System
  • Kurt P. Spindler, MD, Past President, Cleveland Clinic Sports Health Center
  • Matthew T. Provencher, MD, MBA, Member at Large, Steadman Clinic
  • Asheesh Bedi, MD, Member at Large, Northshore University Health System
  • Miho Jean Tanaka, MD, Member at Large, Harvard Medical School
  • Matthew Matava, MD, Council of Delegates Chair (Ex Officio), Washington University School of Medicine
  • Cassandra Lee, MD, Communications Chair (Ex Officio), UC Davis Sports Medicine
  • C. Benjamin Ma, MD, Research Chair (Ex Officio), UC San Francisco Sports Medicine
  • Brian R. Wolf, MD, Education Chair (Ex Officio), UI Sports Medicine
  • Bruce Reider, MD, Executive Editor, Medical Publishing/Editor-in-Chief AJSM (Ex Officio Non-Voting)
  • Greg Dummer, CAE, Chief Executive Officer, AOSSM (Ex Officio Non-Voting)
Back to top