Steven P. Arnoczky Young Investigator Grant Winners

2019 Winner

Drew Lansdown, MD (UCSF)
“The Relationship Between ACL Graft Quantitative Imaging Characteristics and Subjective and Functional Outcomes After ACL Reconstruction”

2018 Winner

Jorge Chahla, MD, PhD (Cedars Sinai Medical Center)
“Revisiting the Vascularity and Stem Cell Population of the Meniscal Avascular Zone Using 3D Imaging Technique”

2017 Winner
Brian Lewis, MD (Duke University)
“In-vivo Evaluation of Femoroacetabular Cartilage Strain”

2016 Winner
Alan Zhang, MD (UCSF)
“Quantitative Magnetic Resonance Imaging for Femoroacetabular Impingement of the Hip”  

2015 Winner
Thomas Kremen, MD (Cedars-Sinai Medical Center)  
“Novel in vivo Nuclear Imaging of Stem Cells in Tendon Regeneration”   
2014 Winner
Perry R. Altman, MD (Beaumont Hospital) 
“Stem Cell Mobilization and Chemokine-directed Intra-articular Migration of Native Marrow-derived Stem Cells: Acute Phase Treatment to Mitigate Post-traumatic Osteoarthritis Following ACL Rupture”   
2013 Winner
Ermias Abebe, MD (University of Pittsburg Medical Center)
“The Effects of ACL Deficiency on Meniscal Strain and Cartilage Deformation”

Sandy Kirkley Clinical Outcome Research Grant Winners

2019 Winner

Andrew J. Sheean, MD (San Antonio Military Medical Center)
Blood Flow Restriction (BFR) for Post-Operative Rehabilitation Following Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction with Quadriceps Tendon Autograft: A Randomized Controlled Trial”

2018 Winner

Nikhil Verma, MD (Rush University Medical Center)
“Patient Outcomes Collection: How Can We Do Better? A Randomized Trial to Determine Factors Which May Affect Patient Compliance”

2017 Winner
Richard C. Mather, III, MD (Duke University)
“Using Social Incentives to Increase Response Rate to Routine Patient Reported Outcome Measurement after Episodic Healthcare Interventions”

2016 Winner
Jason Dragoo, MD (Stanford)
“Autologous Stem Cell Application versus Microfracture for the Treatment of Isolated Cartilage Defects”

2015 Winner
Clare Ardern, PhD (La Trobe University) 
“Development and Trial of a Web-based Toolkit to Facilitate the Return to Sport Transition After Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction” 
2014 Winner
Drew A. Lansdown, MD (UCSF) 
“An Evaluation of the Effects of Rotator Cuff Tear Size on the Progression of Fatty Infiltration with a Novel Quantitative MR Imaging Technique” 
2013 Winner
E. Todd Schroeder, PhD (University of Southern California)
“Testosterone Administration and ACL Reconstruction in Men”

2012 Winner
Olufemi Ayeni, MD, MSc, FRCS(C) (McMaster University)
“Arthroscopic Treatment of Femoroacetabular Impingment: A Pilot Randomized Trial”

Career Development Award Supplement Winners

2011 Winner
Christian Lattermann, MD (University of Kentucky)
2010 Winner
Cristin M. Ferguson, MD (Wake Forest University)
2009 Winner
Warren R. Dunn, MD, MPH (Vanderbilt University Medical Center)
2008 Winner
Bruce S. Miller, MD, MS (University of Michigan)

Osteoarthritis Grant Winners 

2019 Winner

Camila B. Carballo, PT, PhD (Hospital for Special Surgery)
“Mechanical Loading Effects in OA Progression Following ACL Reconstruction: Assessment of Synovial Cells Activation”

2017 Winner
Li Zeng, PhD (Tufts University)
“Investigating Early Changes of The Joint Environment in Injury-Induced Osteoarthritis Progression”

2016 Winner
Cecilia Pascual-Garrido, MD (University of Colorado - Denver) 
“Cartilage Repair with Mesenchymal Stem Cells (MSCs) Delivered In A Novel Chondroitin Sulfate/Polyethylene Glycol Hydrogel in an Equine Animal Model” 

2015 Winner
Blaine Christiansen, PhD  (University of California, Davis)
“Inhibition of Cathepsin K for Preventing Osteoarthritis Following Non-Invasive ACL Rupture in Mice”
2014 Winner
Robert H. Brophy, MD (Washington University) 
“Molecular Profiling of Meniscus and Articular Cartilage in Knees with and without Osteoarthritis to Identify Candidate Genes for Therapeutic Intervention"
2012 Winner
Asheesh Bedi, MD (University of Michigan)
“Changes in Biomarkers of Cartilage Degeneration and Inflammation Following Arthroscopic Decompression of Femoacetabular Impingement”

Meniscus Allograft Transplantation Grant

2012 Winner
Scott A. Rodeo, MD (Hospital for Special Surgery)
“Meniscus Allograft Transplantation: Quantifiable Predictors of Outcome”


Innovative Outcomes Assessment Grant Winners

2012 Winner
Gregory D. Myer, PhD (Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center) 
“Optimization and Exernal Validation of Non-invasive Outcome Prediction Algorithm for Knee Osteochondritis Dissecans in Children” 

2011 Winner
Stephen L. Lyman, PhD (Hospital for Special Surgery)
“Validation of Electronic Knee Specific Patient Reported Outcome Instruments”