Skip to main
Share this page:

Sports Medicine Leadership Award

Robert E. Leach, MD Sports Medicine Leadership Award

(Formerly Mr. Sports Medicine Award)

This award was begun in 1973 and is given to an individual who has provided outstanding service in the orthopaedic community and made numerous contributions to the specialty of sports medicine. It was previously known as the Mr. Sports Medicine Award. The recipient is chosen by the AOSSM President, President-elect, and Vice President. The winner receives a $5,000 donation to his/her charity of choice, an award plaque, and a 15-minute award presentation/recap of the individual’s career at the Annual Meeting.

Award Recipients

2022 William E. Garrett Jr., MD, PhD
2021 Jo A. Hannafin, MD, PhD

2020 Edward M. Wojtys, MD

2019 Robert A. Arciero, MD

2018 James E. Tibone, MD
2017 Bernard R. Bach, Jr., MD
2016 Peter A. Indelicato, MD
2015 Richard J. Hawkins, MD
2014 James R. Andrews, MD
2013 William A. Grana, MD, MPH
2012 Michael J. Axe, MD
2011 Lyle J. Micheli, MD
2010 Champ L. Baker, Jr., MD
2009 John A. Bergfeld, MD
2008 William G. Clancy, Jr., MD
2007 Peter J. Fowler, MD, FRCS
2006 Clarence L. Shields, Jr., MD
2005 J. Richard Steadman, MD
2004 William Allen, MD
2003 Russell Warren, MD
2002 Robert J. Johnson, MD
2001 Robert W. Jackson
2000 Arthur L. Boland, MD
1999 Jay S. Cox, MD
1998 Gerald A. O'Connor, MD
1997 Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD
1996 Frank W. Jobe, MD
1995 Frank H. Bassett, III, MD
1994 John A. Feagin, Jr., MD
1993 H. Royer Collins, MD
1992 George A. Snook, MD
1991 Fred L. Allman, Jr., MD
1990 Marcus J. Stewart, MD
1989 Lenox Baker, MD
1988 Robert E. Leach, MD
1987 Robert Kerlan, MD
1986 Robert L. Larson, MD
1985 James A. Nicholas, MD
1984 Bernard R. Cahill, MD
1983 Robert Metcalf, MD
1982 John C. Kennedy, MD
1981 Alan Ryan, MD
1980 Ejnar Eriksson, MD
1979 Leslie M. Bodnar, MD
1978 Thomas Quigley, MD
1977 Joseph D. Godfrey, MD
1976 Jack C. Hughston, MD
1975 Donald Slocum, MD
1973 Don H. O'Donoghue, MD

Back to top