The Hall of Fame Committee of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) requests nominations of outstanding leaders in the field of sports medicine to be considered for induction into the Society’s Hall of Fame. Nominees are scored in the areas of Research, Education, Community Service, and, provided the applicant is an AOSSM member, Enduring Contributions to the Field of Sports Medicine and Service to AOSSM.The same application may be used for both North American and International applicants but note the difference in eligibility and sponsors.

Your completed form is the primary tool used to determine the merits of each nominee for consideration for induction into the Hall of Fame. The deadline for submission of the nomination forms is February 5, 2021.

The final determination of inductees will be made by the Hall of Fame Committee. A list of the current members of the Hall of Fame is included here. There are a number of members who have made contributions to the specialty of sports medicine and the Society has an array of awards to recognize these individuals. Information on the Society’s awards are listed on the AOSSM website. Referencing this list will assist you in evaluating the options most suitably recognizing the individual’s contributions to the Society. Keep in mind, that the Hall of Fame is the highest recognition the Society provides, and therefore it is reserved for only a very few individuals.


Email for questions

AOSSM Hall of Fame

In 2001, AOSSM established the Hall of Fame to honor members of the orthopaedic sports medicine community who have contributed significantly to the specialty and set themselves apart. Being inducted into the Hall of Fame is one of the highest honors given to a Society member, and we congratulate the inductees on their great achievements in sports medicine. Each member's induction year is noted next to the name.


North America



*Denotes a deceased Hall of Fame member.


Hall of Fame Brochure

Explore the tradition and legacy of AOSSM's Hall of Fame with our official 2019 brochure, distributed at the Annual Meeting in Boston. The online version is available for 
download below.

Download the 2019 Brochure