Robert E. Leach, MD Sports Medicine Leadership Award

(Formerly Mr. Sports Medicine Award)

This award was begun in 1973 and is given to an individual who has provided outstanding service in the orthopaedic community, and made numerous contributions to the specialty of sports medicine.  It was previously known as the Mr. Sports Medicine Award. The recipient is chosen by the AOSSM President, President-elect and the Vice President. The winner receives a $5,000 donation to his/her charity of choice, award plaque and a 15-minute award presentation/recap of the individual’s career at the Annual Meeting.

Award Recipients

2018    James E. Tibone, MD
2017    Bernard R. Bach, Jr., MD
2016    Peter A. Indelicato, MD
2015    Richard J. Hawkins, MD
2014    James R. Andrews, MD
2013    William A. Grana, MD, MPH
2012    Michael J. Axe, MD
2011     Lyle J. Micheli, MD
2010    Champ L. Baker, Jr., MD
2009   John A. Bergfeld, MD
2008   William G. Clancy, Jr., MD
2007   Peter J. Fowler, MD, FRCS
2006   Clarence L. Shields, Jr., MD
2005   J. Richard Steadman, MD
2004   William Allen, MD
2003   Russell Warren, MD
2002   Robert J. Johnson, MD
2001    Robert W. Jackson
2000   Arthur L. Boland, MD
1999    Jay S. Cox, MD
1998    Gerald A. O'Connor, MD
1997    Kenneth E. DeHaven, MD
1996    Frank W. Jobe, MD
1995    Frank H. Bassett, III, MD
1994    John A. Feagin, Jr., MD
1993    H. Royer Collins, MD
1992    George A. Snook, MD
1991     Fred L. Allman, Jr., MD
1990    Marcus J. Stewart, MD
1989    Lenox Baker, MD
1988    Robert E. Leach, MD
1987    Robert Kerlan, MD
1986    Robert L. Larson, MD
1985    James A. Nicholas, MD
1984    Bernard R. Cahill, MD
1983    Robert Metcalf, MD
1982    John C. Kennedy, MD
1981     Alan Ryan, MD
1980    Ejnar Eriksson, MD
1979    Leslie M. Bodnar, MD
1978    Thomas Quigley, MD
1977    Joseph D. Godfrey, MD
1976    Jack C. Hughston, MD
1975    Donald Slocum, MD
1974    Unknown
1973    Don H. O'Donoghue, MD