Orthopaedic Journal of Sports Medicine Awards

The OJSM awards were established in 2016 to honor the best original research and clinical papers published in the journal during the previous calendar year. All published papers are eligible for this award. The winners receive a plaque and a waived article processing charge for the future published paper of their choice. The awards are named for William A. Grana, MD, and Douglas W. Brown, MD, AOSSM Past Presidents. 


Past Award Winners


William A. Grana Award for Best Original Research
Functional Outcomes After Double-Row Versus Single-Row Rotator Cuff Repair: A Prospective Randomized Trial
Stephen J. Nicholas, MD, Steven J. Lee, MD, Michael J. Mullaney, DPT, Timothy F. Tyler, MSPT, ATC, Takumi Fukunaga, DPT, ATC, CSCS, Christopher D. Johnson, MPT, and Malachy P. McHugh, PhD

Douglas W. Brown Award for Best Review Paper
A Systematic Summary of Systematic Reviews on the Topic of the Anterior Cruciate Ligament 
Michael J. Anderson, MD, William M. Browning III, DO, MS, Christopher E. Urband, MD, Melissa A. Kluczynski, MS, and Leslie J. Bisson MD


William A. Grana Award for Best Original Research
Site-Specific Targeting of Platelet-Rich Plasma via Superparamagnetic Nanoparticles
Tara Talaie, BS, Stephen J.P. Pratt, BS, Camilo Vanegas, BS, Su Xu, PhD, R. Frank Henn III, MD, Paul Yarowsky, PhD, and Richard M. Lovering, PhD, PT 

Douglas W. Brown Award for Best Review Paper
Is Operative Treatment of Achilles Tendon Ruptures Superior to Nonoperative Treatment? A Systematic Review of Overlapping Meta-analyses
Brandon J. Erickson, MD, Randy Mascarenhas, MD, FRCSC, Bryan M. Saltzman, MD, David Walton, MD, Simon Lee, MD, Brian J. Cole, MD, and Bernard R. Bach Jr, MD