AOSSM Announces Research Grant Winners

October 3, 2018

The AOSSM Research Committee, comprising more than 20 leading researchers in the sports medicine field, selected winners of three grants in support of orthopaedic sports medicine research during the 2018 Annual Meeting in San Diego. 

Steven P. Arnoczky Young Investigator Grant 

The Young Investigator Grant (YIG)  is designed to support early career orthopaedic surgeons who have not received funding from sources outside of their institution. The award is named in honor of Dr. Arnoczky’s contributions to orthopaedic sports medicine and is supported by individual donations given to the Society. This year’s recipient is Jorge Chahla, MD, PhD, from Cedars-Sinai Medical Center for his research project “Revisiting the Vascularity and Stem Cell Population of the Meniscal Avascular Zone Using 3D Imaging Technique.” 

Sandy Kirkley Grant
AOSSM awards this grant for a clinical, outcomes-focused, research project or pilot study in orthopaedic sports medicine that represents   Dr. Kirkley’s legacy to support outcome research that informs evidence-based practice. This year’s recipient is Nikhil Verma, MD, from Rush University Medical Center for his research project entitled, “Patient Outcomes Collection: How Can We Do Better? A Randomized Trial to Determine Factors Which May Affect Patient Compliance.” 

AOSSM/Sanofi Osteoarthritis Grant 

The recipient of this year’s AOSSM/Sanofi Osteoarthritis Grant is Alan Getgood, MD, of Fowler Kennedy Sport Medicine Clinic for the research project entitled, “Stimulation of Endogenous Repair Following ACL Reconstruction (SERFAR)” This grant funds a basic science project or clinical research study related to early osteoarthritis and/or prevention  of osteoarthritis progression. AOSSM gratefully acknowledges Sanofi for their support of this grant.

Share this page: