Skip to main
Share this page:

AOSSM AANA Combined 2021 Annual Meeting

    • Events

The American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) and the Arthroscopy Association of North America (AANA) Combined 2021 Annual Meeting Hit All the High Notes Along with Record Attendance.

Held in Nashville, TN, approximately 3,233 total participants, including sports medicine orthopedic surgeons, health care professionals, health care business professionals, and guests attended the AOSSM-AANA Combined 2021 Annual Meeting, July 7-11.

The meeting, which was among the first national medical meetings that met in person, included several highlights as noted by AOSSM 2020-21 President Michael G. Ciccotti, MD.

“This Annual Meeting showcased the highest level of sports medicine education on the world stage,” said Dr. Ciccotti. “Clearly the numbers speak for themselves with record attendance and the largest exhibition in our history, but the real story is the unprecedented content available to the sports medicine community through an abundance of outstanding didactic lectures, instructional courses, and live cadaveric surgeries.

“Whether it was representation from the professional sports league, Olympic, collegiate, or high school level, the quality interactions, personal exchanges, and overall engagement – along with our endearing traditions – this meeting had our community riding a high of exuberance – which will brilliantly usher in next year’s 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting at the Broadmoor Resort in Colorado where we will welcome our friends both domestically and from around the world.”

AOSSM CEO Greg Dummer, CAE, echoed Dr. Ciccotti’s comments:

“Our objective this year, and every year, is to offer world-class education along with an exhibition and personal experience that cultivates a community and camaraderie celebrating the best in sports medicine – educationally and from a business perspective,” said Dummer. “We publish the number-one sports medicine journal in the world, and our events deliver on the same level. This year in Nashville we really hit the mark.”

Dr. Ciccotti’s sentiments were emphasized by an exclusive, personal welcome from The President and First Lady of the United States, Joe Biden and Dr. Jill Biden. Both accentuated and applauded AOSSM’s accountability for mentoring the next generation of emerging sports medicine orthopaedic surgeons and the Society’s strong commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DE&I).

As part of the society’s commitment to DE&I, the Annual Meeting featured a Keynote Fireside Chat with Heisman Trophy winner and NFL great Eddie George, who recently became the Head Coach of Tennessee State University football team. While the conversation focused on the many facets of his exceptional career on and off the football field, it poignantly focused on the value and importance of DE&I as a player, coach, and sports medicine professional. Panelists included Michael G. Ciccotti, MD; Brian J. Cole, MD, MBA; Robin West, MD; and Joel Boyd, MD.

Other highlights of the Annual Meeting included:

  • The Biologic Association, which held its 2nd Annual Summit on July 7 with approximately 225 in attendance
  • The Innovation Symposium titled “Overview of New Innovations in Sports Medicine Care in the Knee and Biologic Treatments for Sports Medicine Pathology,” moderated by Christopher Larson, MD featuring presentations by Jason L. Dragoo, MD; Asheesh Bedi, MD; Patrick W. Kane, MD; Alan Getgood, MD, FRCS (Tr&Orth); Shane J. Nho, MD, MS; and Seth C. Gamradt, MD
  • The Sports Health Symposium – Themed around “Unique Knee Injury Factors for Return to Play” and led by Dr. Edward Wojtys, MD, with over 100 attendees
  • The Forum – The number-one women in sports medicine orthopaedic surgeon group in the United States who presented two sessions: “All Things Knee,” moderated by Erin McLemore, MD; and “Advocacy in Orthopaedics - Not What You Think It Is,” moderated by Tamara A. Scerpella, MD
  • The Global Program Series (GPS) with the International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine (ISAKOS) – which hosted “Osteotomy of the Knee: The ISAKOS Perspective” moderated by Elizabeth A. Arendt, MD; and Alan M. Getgood, MD, FRCS (TR&Orth)
  • Four Game Changers Sessions, including “The Athlete, The Injury, The League: The Art of Translation through the Doctor’s Eyes” featuring a panel discussion with the Chief Medical Officers of the major professional leagues, Allen K. Sills, MD (NFL); Gary A. Green, MD (MLB); Margo Putukian, MD (MLS); John P. DiFiori, MD, FACSM (NBA); Bradley J. Nelson, MD (NHL); and moderated by Peter A. Indelicato, MD.
  • And finally, the AOSSM Emerging Leaders Retreat with 75 chosen emerging leaders brought together to develop the strategic plan for the next generation of sports medicine orthopaedic surgeons

The following awards were bestowed during the Annual Meeting:

  • 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees:
    • Robert A. Arciero, MD
    • Jo A. Hannafin, MD, PhD
    • W. Ben Kibler, MD
    • Vincent K. McInerney, MD (2020)
    • Robert A Stanton, MD (2020)
    • Kenneth M. Singer, MD
  • Robert E. Leach Sports Medicine Leadership Award
    • Bob A. Arciero, MD – 2019
    • Edward M. Wojtys, MD – 2020
    • Jo A. Hannafin, MD, PhD – 2021
  • The George D. Rovere Education Award: Elizabeth A. Arendt, MD
  • The John C. Kennedy, MD Lectureship: Jo A. Hannafin, MD, PhD
  • The Thomas A. Brady Community Service Award: Thomas P. Loughran, MD and Mark E. Steiner, MD
  • AOSSM Playmaker Grant Lab, sponsored by the Aircast Foundation:
    • Nathan Skelley, MD
    • Jonathan Riboh, MD

The exhibition was highlighted by more than 100 companies and the hub of activity highlighting:

  • The Orthopaedic Learning Center (OLC) Mobile Lab (semi-truck) featuring live cadaveric surgery broadcast from the exhibit hall into the meeting’s general session
  • An abundance of lunch-and-learn sessions augmented by exclusive in-booth product demonstrations
  • The Accelerating the Cutting Edge (ACE) Award: A new recognition, the Accelerating the Cutting Edge (ACE) Award, was introduced to recognize cutting-edge innovation in the field of orthopaedic sports medicine by exhibitors at the AOSSM Annual Meeting. This year’s three winners are GraftNet by Arthrex, BioBrace by Biorez, and ArthroFree
  • And the inaugural AOSSM Circle of Honor which pays special tribute to individuals for their distinguished service, contributions, and loyalty to AOSSM and the orthopaedic sports medicine profession. This year’s inductees were Stanley Druckenmiller, Kenneth Langone, Michael McBrayer, Reinhold Schmieding

Concluding the Annual Meeting was the presentation of the Presidential Medallion by Dr. Ciccotti to the 50th AOSSM President, Kurt P. Spindler, MD. AOSSM’s 50th Anniversary Annual Meeting is set for July 13-17 at the Broadmoor Resort in Colorado Springs, Co.

Back to top